Happy Birthday,My wonderful daughter!


This Sunday,October 27,my little girl will turn 8 amazing years old!!
I think of the day she joined us,feet first,being yanked through her Mother’s belly as she lay on the table gutted like a fish.
I still have pictures,I myself gloved and gowned,awaiting her first cries of life, ever ready to illicit cries from those closest to me should anything go wrong.
The memory of her at 4,my son then 2,sitting in their Mom’s basement as I on an old guitar she pounding a play school drum my boy listening intently occasionally clapping his hands. The song under her guidance goes as follows,” Don’t stop,Don’t give up,don’t stop,don’t give up,keep trying”.
I still have it on a recording.
This was during the early unpleasantness,my daughter has always been very intuitive.
When I look at her I not only feel there’s light at the end of the tunnel, I can see it.
All the times she put her arms around me in my moments of darkness,never sure if or when we may get to be together again,especially back then when things were really really sideways.
To the first time I got to put her on the bus. Fearless,as she went down the hill together,she on my back as I lay belly down on a sled.
To her telling me she broke 4 boards in her Kuk Sul Do class.
I’d love to go on and and on about how blessed she,( and her brother,but it’s not his birthday),has made my life,and the life of those around us.
And God willing, the ability of a very fine lawyer,the love and support of an amazing wonderful Wife,Ro,(not my kids Mom),and my family,we will all celebrate many many more birthday’s together.
I love you with all my heart Maddie V,
Happy Fantabulous Super Duper 8th Birthday!!!

20131026-000241.jpg

12 thoughts on “Happy Birthday,My wonderful daughter!

  1. Happy Birthday Maddie. You’ve written this beautifully, I enjoyed it. I feel just the same about my son, I’ve always been a single mum, his father wasn’t upto much.Glad you found love again.Good luck with the custody battle, Alex 🙂

  2. Update on the Poetry Group: I am going to have to put this off till next week. I began my new work schedule and I am tired. We have the list and if either of the two that submitted ideas as to how to set up this group would like instead to “take over” I am all for that. Just email me or comment here and I actually hope someone takes me up on this offer. I wanted to be a “participant” not the leader on this. But I will help construct the format of the group and provide the “platform” obviously for the setup and if no one volunteers I will group people next week and simply set a date to have your poem posted, maybe a label and tag we will all use, and a date to try and have reviews done (a week shouldn’t be hard). I will wait and see what kind of responses I get here.

    I am going to tag this post with PCG1 for now.

    -Opinionated Man

  3. Hi, only just worked out your username maddie-and-max-dad,cool.You liked my post ‘I wanna have sex with you’thanks,whilst I was sat in the park this afternoon watching the ducks and thinking about the guy I wrote it for, thought that ‘spooky’,my alerts come to my mobile,hope all well,Alex 🙂

Comments are closed.